top of page

Seeing Celebrities (KAIST and SF x Inkigayo KPop Festival)

September 22-23, 2017

On Friday September 22, 2017, it was KAIST’s turn to host the annual KAIST vs. POSTECH (Pohang University of Science and Technology) competition. It was a two-day event from Friday to Saturday. There were physical sports competitions such as basketball, football (or soccer), ….. and e-sports such as AI, hacking, science quiz, LOL etc. There was an opening ceremony on Friday morning, which POSTECH students greatly outnumbered in attendance. Both university’s cheerleading team (very different from the ones I'm used to back home where they do more acrobatic tricks, here they have more choreography and their outfits are much more decorated and fancy) performed. Although the whole battle may sound very intense and competitive, I felt a friendly but competitive vibe amongst both schools.

I definitely recommend attending the closing ceremony if you can’t make it to any of the other games because you can get free snacks and alcoholic drinks. But most importantly, there are always special guest celebrities that perform for the closing act. This year, rappers Zizo and Kisum were the guest stars.

September 24, 2017

I went to the Daejeon SF EDM Festival Day 2 concert, which was the Global KPop Super Concert (partnered with Inkigayo). These tickets were seriously a steal at only 9,900 KRW (less than $10 USD!) for all seats. We purchased them through Interpark Unfortunately, we purchased them quite late so all the good seats were gone. I was just really happy we even got a seat. The concert was in Daejeon World Cup Stadium.

I was really far and could barely see the stage (everyone looked like ants), luckily, I had my DSLR so I could zoom into them which was much better but I wished it was closer. I can’t imagine ever attending a concert with this many artists at once for less than $10 USD. Amazing.

Tip: The fans tend to leave their seats and move around to other areas to be with other people of their fanclub. You can probably find better seats during the concert. My friend and her group that was sitting on the opposite far end of us actually found better seats in the middle section, much closer to the performers.

Make sure you check out my gallery for this week's pictures!

Until next time, happy travels!

All photos and video footage (unless otherwise stated) are taken by Kaity Chen. Please credit if using.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page