top of page

Meets over Meats

After the first day of classes at KAIST, I met some exchange students in my User Experience class. My roommate and I decided to join them for dinner where we met more exchanges from our department! In total we were a party of 8.

smoky meat glory

불란서삼겹살 (Bullansuh Samgyupsal) is an all you can eat bbq pork belly place for only 10,000 KRW. The condiments/sides (spring onion, ssamjang (bean paste), kimchi, garlic, lettuce, etc) are self-serve. They also gave us a side of 도토리묵 (dotori-muk) or acorn jelly in a cold vinegary broth. I was very surprised to see this dish since it was something I've been wanting to try. The dish included a medley of vegetables (julienned cucumbers, radish and seaweed) that added subtle flavors and a nice crunch. Unfortunately, I was disappointed by the texture of the acorn jelly which basically tasted like jell-o without any flavor. I expected it to be a bit more firm and chew but it was very delicate. However, this dish was very refreshing and helped to cut the grease from all the meat.   

The whole experience is like a "choose your own adventure" where you can make the perfect lettuce wrap for yourself. You can choose to add garlic, bean paste, kimchi and green onion into lettuce wrap along with pork belly or just eat the meat plain with some salt. Although, the meat wasn't the best quality, it did the job to satisfy me. Plus it was a good price and fun to meet everyone over meat.

불란서삼겹살

대전광역시, 유성구, 온천2동

Bullansuh Samgyupsal

409-5 Gung-dong, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon

Until next time, happy eatings!

All photos (unless otherwise stated) are taken by Kaity Chen. Please credit if using.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page