top of page

Beiler's Donuts


Beiler's Donuts is a food bucket item that you must try when you're in Philadelphia. They have over 40 flavors ranging from classic (Plain, Glazed, Powdered) to special flavors (Maple Bacon, Mocha Cream, Key Lime, etc.) all for only $1.10 (and no tax!). I visited the University City location on Wednesday morning. The shop was pretty empty with one or two customers coming in and out with donuts and drinks.

(Excuse the overexposure... still figuring out my camera)

SO MUCH CREAM

The donuts are simply decorated with ingredients that pertains to its flavors distinguishing each one straightforwardly. There is no need no fancy edible flowers or gold dust to overcomplicate the simple yet decadent taste. Although the donuts cost around the same price of Dunkin' Donuts, they are slightly bigger in size and have more weight to them. For only $1.10, they are really worth it.

Visiting for the first time, I was overwhelmed by the different flavors of donuts in the display case. It was hard to settle with just one choice so I decided to go for a classic Glazed donut and an Apple Fritter (recommended by Nicole).

Left: Glazed Cake | Right: Apple Fritter

Glazed Cake Donut

The Glazed Cake donut is fluffy and moist. The cake is delicate yet not crumbly. The glaze, slightly crispy, isn't extremely sweet at first, however, as I got closer to finishing it, it became too sweet for me. I do prefer my desserts mildly sweet so the sweetness may be enough for some of you. Honestly, you can never go wrong with ordering a Glazed donut. It is simple but satisfying.

Apple Fritter Donut

I couldn't resist to take a bite of the Apple Fritter after I finished the Glazed Cake donut. This donut is a lot chewier and denser. It contains swirls of cinnamon and small chunks of cooked apples. Although the texture of the apples are not obvious, there is a good amount of apple flavor that isn't overpowering. The cinnamon is also well balanced. The donut is covered in a layer of the same glaze as the Glazed donut, which provides a nice crunch. After returning to my dorm, I left this donut in the fridge for about 4 hours and then carried it in my bag for about another 4 hours before consuming it. The donut still tasted the same as the first bite I had 8 hours ago. Overall, I would rank this flavor over the Glazed because I prefer chewier textures and the flavor is a lot more diverse.

Unfortunately I don't like cream filled donuts therefore, I didn't get to choose some of the more interesting flavors. I'm sure all the other flavors taste amazing. I will definitely be making multiple trips to try the others when I am back in the winter.

Beiler's Donuts

3900 Chestnut St

Philadelphia, PA, 19104

Happy eatings!

All photos taken by Kaity Chen. Please credit if using.

Related Posts

See All
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • instagram
  • pinterest
  • behance-logo_318-50602

©2018 by (UN)ROOTED

bottom of page